Medved Trader Forums

T&S binance - bid/ask colors

Gorbay

• 1 month later...
  • 1 month later...

i found out that binace does specify in the feed if the trade was bought by the maker or the taker..

here you can see: https://github.com/binance-exchange/binance-official-api-docs/blob/master/web-socket-streams.md

in the payload you get in the m variable (maker) the info if the its true it should show in red if its false it should show in green.
im not a professional programmer but i do know a bit.. i tried to program it in javascript and it works.

i upload the html file so you can see it works, just change the txt extention to .html and open it in the browser it will show the feed from neo/usdt with different colors for buyers or sellers.

websockettest.html.txt

Edited by Gorbay

They do specify that but they are not sending best bid/ask together with the trade quote. Note: the best bid/ask that is sent together with the quote is (at least for all sources we use that do that) the best bid/ask *after* the trade is executed, not before. So even though they send whether it was bought by maker or taker, that does not provide enough information to deduce what the best bid/ask is at that moment (which is what the raw data in MT is supposed to be recording)...

every trade that happens is the best bid or best ask, you cannot buy out of the market in binance
if the bid for example is 77.01 you cant sell it below this price without taking this bid too, if the trade is bigger than the size you have in the best bid it will be part filled on this price and go to the best bid after that for another trade
so every trade is being done with the best bid/ask

if it says the buyer is the maker, that means that the price that the trade was done is the price of the best bid and if the buyer is the taker that means the trade was done with the best ask price.