Medved Trader Forums

Observation and Question

timtrader

I've been using MT on a fast new computer for about 4 months now (Intel Core i7-4770).  Over time MT has gradually taken longer and longer to both start up and shut down.  Last week it got to the point of taking about 4 full minutes to start up and about a full minute or more to shut down.  Task manager was showing that the MT.exe process was using about 1.4 GB of space and my free memory would often go down to less than 100 MB and the response time would sometimes lag for a second or two during the trading day. (I currently only have 8 GB on this machine.)  So, I poked around and found out that my SDATA.BIN file had grown to over 4.7 GB in size.  Three days ago I shut down MT, renamed my SDATA.BIN file, started MT back up and ever since then MT fully starts up in about 10 seconds (all data sources streaming), and it shuts down instantly. My free memory now stays at about 2.5 GB and the MT.exe process is usually only taking about 250 MB of memory.  The new SDATA.BIN file that MT created was only about 25 MB after the first day, but now 3 days later it is sitting at about 134 MB, so based on my current usage, I suspect that it will eventually become a huge file and slow things down again.

I periodically research over 100 stocks after hours and have my "Max # of Days of Intraday Data" set to 55.  I know that's high, but its handy for research....and this fast machine coupled with the fast quotes from IQFeed will return that 55 days of intraday data in only about 2 seconds or less for a newly entered stock symbol with average daily volume of about 50 million shares.  I assume its this historical data that is causing my SDATA.BIN file to grow so large over time.  So, I have a couple of questions based on this information:

1.)  Based on my settings, will MT periodically delete the data older than 55 days in the SDATA.BIN file, or does it just keep all of the historical data and continue to grow the file?