Medved Trader Forums

Linking Paintbars on Intraday Chart

Hi forum

I'm new to Medved Trader (not new to trading).  I'm experimenting with the Intraday charts and have created a number of paintbars which are appearing on the chart.

I've looked at the YouTube tutorials and documentation and can't seem to find what I'd like to do.

Is it possible to link the paintbars so they only fire/appear on the intraday chart if the other paintbar conditions equate to true. For example I have a buy paintbar called b_p and a sell paintbar called s_p.  Can I set up the paintbars so 's_p' only appears after 'b_bp' appears and then once 's_p' appears 'b_bp' can trigger again ? Not sure if that's clear, currently on my intraday chart I have many consecutive 'buy' signal and 'sell' signals and I only want to see alternating signals buy sell buy sell buy sell etc

Cheers

you cannot link one paintbar to another. However, you can basically implement the functionality of all the paintbars in question in one, using the Advanced mode. Then you can do conditional triggering or triggering differently for different events. Can also track the result of the paintbar from one bar to another.

Hi Jerry

Do you mean something like TriggerAlert(String AlertName, String Message) ?

So if I had a Buy indicator and my conditions evaluated to true I would code something like this:

TriggerAlert('TradeAlert', 'BUY')

and then in my SELL indicator - how would I reference that alert - if TradeAlert = 'BUY' { //set another alert} ??

Alternatively can i use in the Simple paintbar editor set the Alert, Name it and create a message like below ? And how can I reference that alert in another paintbar ?

image.png.697adb5725eb5ef4614028b11562e9bb.png

Sorry for all the Q's, I'm struggling with this at the moment.

Crypto