Medved Trader Forums

how to test for a particular increase after a buy signal

I am new to paintbars and not fluent in C#.  I want to use them to do some simple backtesting.  My plan is to use the advanced editor to define the buy point using various indicators and then check the following candles to determine when the price has changed by a specified amount, say 1 %.  I can't get the later candles to know the buy price.  I think it must involve the "state keeping", but I don't understand what those terms do.  Can someone suggest how to save a variable value so that it can be used for comparison in later candles?

Thanks

Yes, you would want to store the "buy price" in the state object, and then compare against that. Here is an example. 

NOTE: I am using the BuyPrice to both keep track of the buy price as well as determine. if buy has occurred. If BuyPrice is set (not zero), then it has occured, otherwise not.

for the example, am using a simple calculation for determining an entry - when the price hits the day high to buy, when it pulls back from the high 1% to sell. 

Most of the state machinery is default added stuff. I highlighted the 2 lines that were added to it. 

public void MainCalculation()
{
    // if Buy has not yet occurred, then check for a BUY condition:
    if (CurrentState.BuyPrice == 0 && Close >= SymbolData.High)
    {
        // BUY
        CurrentState.BuyPrice = Close;

SetColorAndShape(Color.Green, PBShape.ArrowUp);
        TriggerAlert();
        SetScanResult("BUY");
    }
    else if (CurrentState.BuyPrice > 0 && Close  < (SymbolData.High * 0.99)) // Check if the price dropped to 99% of the high
    {
        // SELL
        CurrentState.BuyPrice = 0;
        SetColorAndShape(Color.Green, PBShape.ArrowDn);
        TriggerAlert();
        SetScanResult("SELL");
    }

}

/// <summary>
/// Is called at start of paintbar calculation, should be used to initialize anything needed for the paintbar
/// </summary>