Medved Trader Forums

Backtesting?

zenlando

Question

I've been looking into different backtesting apps recently, and it occurred to me that MT is possibly already well on its way to getting some kind of backtesting feature implemented if the choice were made to do so. The reason I say that is that paintbars are done, and essentially all the indicators have now been implemented. And it seems that writing and saving paintbar rules creates various logic operations using specific indicators, including the "and" "or" as necessary, and might form a good foundation for some kind of simple backtesting app for ETFs and Equities? Option backtesting would be amazing, but even a start with just being able to backtest ETFs with the ability to control historical start and stop times would be pretty awesome.

But of course I'm not a coder, so I have NO idea how much time it would take to actually tie what's already there now in MT to historical data of varying chart frequencies and the like to make something viable :). But that said, it seems that most of the more time-consuming features created for MT have now been implemented. Food for thought... would really be handy to have as part of MT at some point.

Thanks, Dave

15 answers to this question

It depends on what you want in your backtesting...

As you said, for some definitions of backtesting, MT is basically there. All you have to do is implement your backtesting strategy as a paintbar on historical or intraday scale, and run it on a particular chart on as much data as you can get in backfilling from your particular source. On any data - including options.

Once you're satisfied in your strategy's viability, just leave the paintbar running on that chart and it will be able to notify you when to buy/sell in real time :)